Student Awards

award banner

Fellowships and Awards

The following links have more detailed application information on UMN fellowships, grants, and awards.

3M Science and Technology Fellowship

Description: This gift was set up for students in the university's Institute of Technology, Academic Health Center, College of Biological Sciences and Duluth Campus.

2010 - Evelyne Houang
2013 - Amritha Yellamilli
2014 - Amber Lockridge

Allan Hemingway Scholarship

Description: This award commemorates Professor Allan Hemingway, PH.D., a member of the Department of Physiology from 1937-1951. He was a devoted teacher and prolific researcher whose work involved a wide range of biomedical and engineering topics and included many innovative experimental designs.
The MMF description reads: “To provide one or more annual awards at the level of a graduate assistantship. It is the wish of the donors that students who receive the award will, as a result of their graduate education, be able to benefit mankind in future generations." This award is given to the graduate student with the highest cumulative GPA upon completion of their first year of coursework.

2009-10:  Jason Foss
2010-11:  Dalay Olson
2011-12:  Tim Matsuura & Nathan Zaidman
2012-13:  Anthony Vetter
2013-14:  Matthew Wheelwright
2014-15:  Tanya Meyers & Amber Lockridge
2015-16:  Carolina Ortiz Cordero
2016-17:  Alexie Larson
2017-18:  Daniel Baumann

Bacaner Research Awards

Description: The Dr. Marvin and Hadassah Bacaner Research Awards recognize exceptional research achievement by graduate students in the basic sciences as well as graduate students or faculty in cardiology. Nominations may be made by a student’s graduate advisor or by a faculty member’s colleagues. The Dr. Marvin and Hadassah Bacaner Research Awards in the basic medical sciences recognize creative research. The $1,000 award is offered annually to graduate students in the basic science fields of biochemistry, molecular biology, and biophysics; genetics, cell biology, and development; microbiology, immunology, and cancer biology (MICaB); pharmacology; and integrative biology & physiology. An award is also offered annually in cardiology. more info

2016 - Nathan Zaidman
2017 - Timothy Matsuura
2017 - Amritha Yellamilli

Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship

Description: The Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship (DDF) program gives the University's most accomplished Ph.D. candidates an opportunity to devote full-time effort to dissertation research and writing during the fellowship year. more info

2013 - Jason Foss
2014 - Cheryl Cero
2016 - Amritha Yellamilli

Fisch Art of Medicine Award

Description: The Fisch Art of Medicine Student Awards allow current University of Minnesota medical students to explore the arts, enriching the traditional medical school curriculum through creative expression. more info

2016 - Mayank Verma

Kaplan Award

Description: Three J. Jacob Kaplan awards are presented annually for the most meritorious student papers on either clinical or basic medical research and includes a $4,000 award. An award is available for research in three fields of medicine: immunology in diagnosis and treatment of cancer; gastroenterology; and, cardiology. The awards are intended to encourage and recognize scholarly achievement in medical research by young investigators at the University of Minnesota Medical School. more info

Lifson/Johnson Memorial Award

Description: The Lifson/Johnson Memorial Award recognizes excellence in teaching by undergraduate or graduate students. Selection is by the Department of Integrative Biology and Physiology.

2011-12 - Dalay Olson
2012-13 - Nathan Zaidman
2013-14 - Snider Desir
2014-15 - Ninitha Asirvatham-Jeyaraj, post doctoral fellow
2015-16 - Tanya Meyers
2016-17 - Amber Lockridge
2017-18 - Alexie Larson

Milne-Brandenburg Award

Description: The Beatrice Z. Milne and Theodore Brandenburg Award recognizes exceptional thesis research by graduate students in the basic biomedical sciences. The award reflects the thoughtfulness and generosity of Ms. Beatrice Z. Milne and serves as a lasting expression of her commitment to improving the health of the people of Minnesota, the nation, and the world. The award is given annually to up to six currently enrolled graduate students in one of the following graduate programs: Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Biophysics (BMBB), Integrative Biology and Physiology (IBP), Microbiology, Immunology & Cancer Biology (MICaB), Molecular, Cellular, Developmental Biology & Genetics (MCDB&G), Neuroscience, and Pharmacology.

The Biomedical Sciences Ph.D. Graduate Programs Council in the Medical School will coordinate the selection process. The award will be presented in the spring and each award will include a $6,000 award. more info

Steer Family Award in Diabetes Research

Description: The $1,000 Steer Family Award in Diabetes Research is presented for outstanding research by a graduate or medical student in the field of diabetes mellitus. The recipient is selected by an ad hoc faculty committee. more info

2017-18 - Amber Lockridge

Steer -Pruitt Award

Description: This award recognizes outstanding cardiovascular research by a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Minnesota Medical School. The award honors the memory of Dr. Raymond D. Pruitt, who was the founding dean of Mayo Medical School and Professor of Medicine at the University of Minnesota and Mayo Medical School. The award was established by his former student, Randolph C. Steer, M.D., Ph.D. It recognizes Dr. Pruitt’s outstanding contributions as an educator, clinical and basic scientist, administrator and humanitarian, and the opportunities that his vision and kindness provided to students from around the world. more info

2014 - Forum Kamdar, MD

Dr. Warren & Henrietta Warwick Fellowship

Description: To support a MD/Ph.D. student in the biomedical sciences. Dr. Warwick is a pioneering pediatrician in the treatment of cystic fibrosis at the University of Minnesota.

2013-14 - Matthew Wheelwright