Graduate Program News

amritha yellamilli

Ph.D. Candidate and MSTP student, Amritha Yellamilli competed in the university-wide 3 minute thesis competition and took second place, as well as winning the people’s choice award.
Here is a link to the new article posted on the Medical School website.


Kudos to 2nd year grad student, Alexie Larson who was awarded the Allan Hemingway Scholarship for holding the highest GPA upon completion of the first year of coursework.


3x3 tim matsuuraMatt Wheelwright
Congratuations to Tim Matsuura and Matt Wheelwright who both were successful in their oral thesis defense in May 2017.   Tim is currently interviewing for a post doc position and Matt will be continuing with the MSTP program to receive his M. D. degree.


Amber Lockridge

Congratulations to Amber Lockridge for winning the 2016 Lifson/Johnson Memorial Award recognizing excellence in physiology teaching by graduate students, and for recently obtaining a fellowship slot on the Minnesota Obesity Prevention Training program.

nathan zaidman award

Ph.D. Candidate, Nathan Zaidman (O'Grady/Mortari labs) was presented with the 2015 Dr. Marvin and Hadassah Bacaner Research award which recognizes exceptional research achievement by graduate students in the basic sciences.

Tanya Meyers

Congratuations to Tanya Meyers who was awarded an NIH Research Fellowship. "Female Resilience in Dystrophic Cardiomyopathy"

amritha Y 3mt

Congratuations to Amritha Yellamilli (van Berlo lab) who won 1st place in the 3 Minute Thesis event held at the 2017 Biomedical Sciences Programs Research Recognition Day.  View Amiritha's talk here.

Kudos to Tim! Tim Matsuura (Yannopolous lab) was awarded a grant through the American Heart Association. (February 2017)

tim matsuuraTim Matsurra was selected to receive the 2016-17 Dr. Marvin & Hadassah Bacaner Research Award which recognized excellence in science research.


Amritha Yellamilli

Amritha Yellamilli (van Berlo lab) has been awarded the 2016-17 Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship.  Congratulations!

December 2016 - Amber Lockridge co-authored paper with Emilyn Alejandro - Islets 2016 Nov;8(6):195-206. Serine racemase is expressed in islets and contributes to the regulation of glucose homeostasis.

Nathan ZaidmanCongratulations to Dr. Nathan A. Zaidman on his successful thesis defense entitled “The Role of Hydrocortisone on the Development and Maintenance of Ion Transport Pathways Essential to Mucociliary Clearance in Differentiated Normal Human Bronchial Epithelial Cells”.  Nathan will begin a post doctoral fellow position at Johns Hopkins with Jennifer L. Pluznick, Ph.D. beginning in October 2016.

amber yic award

Amber Lockridge received First Place at the 2017 Visscher Young Investigator Award Competition!

January 2017 - Paper published by IBP Graduate Program Alumna, Cheryl Cero and co-authored by recent graduate of IBP Ph.D Program, Nathan Zaidman. The neuropeptide TLQP-21 opposes obesity via C3aR1-mediated enhancement of adrenergic-induced lipolysis - Cheryl Cero, Maria Razzoli, Ruijun Han, Bhavani Shankar Sahu, Jessica Patricelli, ZengKui Guo, Nathan A. Zaidman, John M. Miles, Scott M. O'Grady, Alessandro Bartolomucci
Volume 6 | No. 1 | January 2017
Abstract | PDF

Evelyne Houang

Congratuations to Evelyne Houang, Ph.D.!
April 2016 - Evelyne successfully defended her thesis entitled "Structure-function studies of a membrane stabilizer copolymer for Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy"


snider desir Goldy

2016 - Ph.D. Candidate, Snider Desir first author publication: Tunneling nanotube formation is stimulated by hypoxia in ovarian cancer cells.

tanya meyers Award

Tatyana Meyers (Townsend lab) was awarded the 2015 Lifson/Johnson Memorial Award recognizing excellence in teaching.

 Mayank Verma

Ph.D. Candidate, Mayank Verma (Asakura Lab) was awarded the 2015 Fisch Art of Medicine Student Award which highlights projects that combine the arts and science of medicine.